Division of
Science and Environmental Policy


B.A. in
  Environmental
  Studies
B.S. in
  Marine Science
B.S. in
 Biology
 

SEP Directory

Tenured & Tenure-Track Faculty Instructors
(see also, adjunct faculty list below-left)

Technical Support Staff

Office Staff
Adjunct Faculty
('I' denotes adjunct faculty who are also instructors)
Research, Watershed Institute, UROC,
& other programmatic staff
('I' denotes part-time instructors)

+ Sabbatical

~ AMWS

LOA = Leave of Absence


All faculty & staff

Gabriela Alberola, M.S.
SEP Graduate and Internship Student Services Coordinator
Email: galberola@csumb.edu

Susan Alexander, Ph.D.
Faculty
Interests:
Ecology ~ ecosystem modeling ~ marine science
Course Pages:
ENVS 303/L California Transect
BIO 340 Ecology
Email: salexander@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-3718. Fax: (831) 582-4122. Office: 53-S311

Danitza Alvizar

Danitza Alvizar Fernandez
Lab Support Tech - Molecular Biology
Office: 53/E313
Phone: 831 582 4075
Lab Support Website: http://sep.csumb.edu/tech

Email: dalvizar@csumb.edu

Sharon Anderson, Ph.D.
Vice-Chair, Division of Science and Environmental Policy
Faculty
Interests:
Environmental chemistry ~ water quality ~ soil chemistry ~ pesticide fate
Classes:
FYS 121
CHEM 109 - Chemistry & the Environment
CHEM 111
ENVS 315
Email: shanderson@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-3915
Krikor Antonian, PhD
Lecturer
Courses: ENVS350/355
Interests: Plant Ecology, Biological Invasions, Plant-Soil Interactions
Email: krikorcreek@gmail.com
Jody Beers, PhD
Instructor
Courses: BIO495 Special Topics in Biology: Biomedical Research
Interests: Comparative Physiology, Ecophysiology, Biochemical Adaptations,
    Ichthyology, Polar Biology
Email: jbeers@stanford.edu

Iryna Berezhna
SEP Administrative Support Coordinator
Phone:
(831) 582-4110
Email: iberezhna@csumb.edu

Gerick Bergsma

Gerick Bergsma, PhD
Lecturer
Instructor: BIO 340, BIO 394
Phone - (831) 582-3208
Office: 53-E215
Interests - Marine community ecology, invertebrate zoology and ornithology

Email: gbergsma@csumb.edu

Sujan Bhattarai
Lab Technician - Chemistry/Physics
Office: 53/E313
Email; sbhattarai@csumb.edu
Phone:
(831) 582-
4286
Lab Support Website: http://sep.csumb.edu/tech

Caitilin Binder, Ph.D.
Instructor
Classes: CHEM210/L, CHEM110L, CHEM111L
Interests: Organic Synthesis; Biochem
Office: 53/E301
Email: CBinder@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-
4305

 

Carrie Bretz, MS
SFML, Research Associate
Email: cbretz@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-4197
Kelly Brundige
Student Science Instructional Lab Assistant.
 
Carla Bundrick Benejam, PhD
Instructor
Interests:
human evolution~primate behavior~science education
Course Page:
BIO204 Introduction to Life Science
BIO379S Biology Service Learning
Office: Building 50, Room 104
Email:
cbenejam@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-5039
.
Maxine Chaney, MS
Laboratory Support Technician (Molecular Biology/Physiology)
Courses: BIO 461
Interests: Marine intertidal physiology, Molecular genetics, Histology
Email: machaney@csumb.edu
Eddie Chavez
RISE counselor
Email: echavez@csumb.edu
Phone:
(831) 582-4556
Gage Dayton, PhD
Lecturer
Courses: BIO360
Interests: Field methods, ecology, organismal biology
Email: gdayton@csumb.edu
Frank Degnan
Diving Safety Officer
Phone: 831 583 3309
Email: fdegnan@csumb.edu 
August Delforge, BS
SEP Internship Coordinator
Interests: Internships
Email: adelforge@csumb.edu

Jon Detka, MS
Instructor
Academic Skills & Achievement Program - Science Tutor Coordinator
Courses Taught: BIO240L, BIO340, CHEM110L, FYS 100, PHYS121, STAT250
Watershed Institute Research Associate
Interests
: Watershed Assessment / Restoration ~ Botany/Ecology ~ Remote Sensing ~ Science Education ~ Online Learning
Email: jdetka@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-5178. Office: 53-E113

Daniel Fernandez, Ph.D.
Faculty
Interests:
Physics ~sustainability and alternative energy
    ~ ocean remote sensing ~ fog water collection
Courses:
PHYS 220 - Physics 1
PHYS 221 - Physics 2
ENSTU 375 - Sustainability Systems
ENSTU 376 - Infrastructure Systems
Email: dfernandez@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-3786
.

Ernesto Franco, Ph.D.
Instructor
Interests:
plant-soil relations ~ arid-land ecosystems.
Classes:
ENVS 300 - Major Proseminar
ENVS 212 - Ethics, Science and Environmental Policy: Food Ethics
Email: efranco@csumb.edu
Phone:
582-3218
.

Jeanette Galinato
Lab Technician - Organismal Biology
Office: E211
Email:
jgalinato@csumb.edu
Phone:
(831) 582-3212

Lab support web site: http://sep.csumb.edu/tec

 

Monica Galligan, MS
Instructor
Courses:
ENSTU 283 - Politics & the Environment
ENVS 284 - Environmental Economics & Management
Office: 53-E109
Email: mgalligan@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-4743

Corey Garza, Ph.D.
Faculty
Director - CSUMB Ocean Science Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU)

Interests: marine landscape ecology ~ coastal policy and management
   ~ marine invertebrates  ~ statistics ~ geospatial technology
Email: cogarza@csumb.edu
Home page: http://sep.csumb.edu/staff/corey/
Phone:
(831) 582-3024

 

Margaret Geissler
Science Operations Coordinator
Office: 53-S308
Email: mgeissler@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-4213

Lab support web site: http://sep.csumb.edu/tec

 

Linda Glenn
Instructor: BIO 300 Issues and Ethics in Biology
Email: liglenn@csumb.edu
John Goeltz, PhD
Lecturer
Courses: CHEM 111L & 109
Interests: Energy and the environment, electrochemistry, entrepreneurship
Email: jgoeltz@csumb.edu

Crystal Gonzalez, M.S.
Instructor
Interests:
science education ~ organic chemistry
Email:
crgonzalez@csumb.edu
Phone:
(831) 582-3665

 

Alberto Guzman Alberto Guzman
Programmer
Room: 53-E116
Email: aguzman@csumb.edu

Arlene Haffa, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Classes: BIO300, BIO310, BIO320, BIO378S, Capstone
Research Interests: Microbial Bioremediation and Biogeochemical Processes
Office: 13-127
Email: ahaffa@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-4695

 

Lauren Hanneman
Lecturer
Courses: ENSTU 211
Interests: marine science education
Email: lhanneman@csumb.edu
Pam Hansen
SEP.org Budget Analyst
Email: phansen@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582 3138
Lynne Harden, Ph.D.
Instructor: GEOL260/L, MSCI270, and CHEM109
Office: 53/E107
Phone: 831-582-3218
Interests: Coastal morphodynamics, sea-level rise, and anthropogenic influences on the coastal zone
Email: eharden@csumb.edu
 
William Head, Ph.D.
Faculty ~ Director, Undergraduate Research Opportunities Center (UROC)
Interests:
Marine ecology ~ marine policy ~ aquaculture ~ critical thinking ~ Internship Program
Student Opportunities Program: http://sep.csumb.edu/opportunities/
Email: whead@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-3576

Emily Howard (nee Smith)
Watershed Institute
Return of the Natives Education Coordinator
Email:
esmith@csumb.edu
Phone:
(831) 582-3687

 

Meagan HynesPhD, CPSS
Instructor: ENVS 315 - Soils and the Environment
Office: 53/E310
Email: mhynes@csumb.edu

Pat Iampietro, MS
Instructor
SFML Research Associate & Systems Administrator

Courses
: ENVS 532 Advanced GIS & Spatial Analysis
Interests:  Marine Ecology, Hydrography, GIS and Spatial Analysis
Email: piampietro@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-4214

 

Rebecca Kersnar, M.A.
Instructor
Interests:
Environmental Studies ~ Sustainability
~ Biology/Botany ~ Academic Writing/Communication ~ TESOL

Courses:
ENSTU 211 - Introduction to Science and Environmental Policy: The Sustainable Campus
ENSTU 300 - Critical Thinking and Communication in Environmental Studies
ENSTU 403 - Capstone Seminar 2

Email: rkersnar@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-3207
.

Dhan Khadka, PhD
Instructor: PHYS 121/121L and PHYS 150/150L
Interests: Polymer and polypeptide-based nanostructured biomaterials design, fabrication, characterization and their potential life science applications, and nanotechnology.
Office: 53/E107
Phone: 831-582-5147
Email: dkhadka@csumb.edu
Home page: http://dkhadka.myweb.usf.edu/
Henrik Kibak, Ph.D.
Faculty
Interests:
Biochemistry ~ Bioinformatics ~ Science Education
Course Pages:
BIO 241 - Introduction to Cell & Molecular Biology
BIO 310 - Biochemical Systems
Home Page: http://home.csumb.edu/k/kibakhenrik/world/
Email: hkibak@csumb.edu
Phone: Voice: (831) 582-4144 FAX: (831)582-4122
.
Emily King
SEP Office Student Assistant
Email:
SEP_Office@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-4120

Steve Klooster
Adjunct Faculty
Senior Scientist, NASA Cooperative Agreement
Web: http://geo.arc.nasa.gov/sge/casa/
 

Ashley Knight, M.S.
Rote Program Assistant and Research Associate
Institute for Applied Marine Ecology
Room: 53-S122
Email:
aknight@csumb.edu
Phone: 831-582-4522

Myriam Kodl, M.S.
Instructor
Interests:
Environmental Studies ~ water issues ~ science education ~ sustainability
Courses:

GEOL 210 Introduction to Earth Science
ENVS 201 Environmental Science (Nature of Science)
ENVS 201Lab Environmental Science (Nature of Science)
ENVS 309 Science and Policy of Climate Change
ENVS 387 Water Resource, Assessments, Policy, and Law
Email:
mkodl@csumb.edu
Phone:
(831)582-3975

 

Photo N/A Stefanie Kortman, BS
Laboratory Support Technician
Interests: Agricultural sustainabiity
Email: skortman@csumb.edu
Rikk Kvitek, Ph.D.
Faculty - Seafloor Mapping Lab Director
Interests:
Marine science ~ geospatial technology (GIS/GPS) ~ seafloor mapping
Research Page:
Seafloor Mapping Lab (SFML)
Email:
rkvitek@csumb.edu
Phone:
(831) 582-3529

Laura Lee Lienk, M.S.
Watershed Institute Co-Director, Return of the Natives Restoration Education Project Coordinator
Interests: Watershed restoration ~ service learning ~ science education
Research / Education Page: Return of the Natives (RON) Restoration Education Project
Bio Page: http://watershed.csumb.edu/wi/bios.htm#Lienk
Email: llienk@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-3689
Camilia "Webb" Lewis
SEP.org Budget Analyst
Phone: (831) 582-3225
Email:
cwebb@csumb.edu
 
Lane Lewis
SEP Office Assistant
Phone: 831 582 4120
Email: sep_office@csumb.edu

Diana Lieberman, Ph.D.
Adjunct Faculty
Home page: http://hydro.csumb.edu/lieberman/
Email: dlieberman@csumb.edu

James Lindholm, Ph.D.
James W. Rote Distinguished Professor of Marine Science and Policy
Director of the
Institute for Applied Marine Ecology (IfAME)
Interests:
Ecology of marine fishes ~ habitat response to fishing ~
  ~ design and efficacy of MPAs
Home page: http://sep.csumb.edu/staff/james/
Email:
jlindholm@csumb.edu
Phone:
(831) 582-4662

Cheryl Logan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Marine Physiology
Classes: BIO242/L Spring 2011
Interests: Marine Ecological and Evolutionary Physiology (Corals, Mussels, Fish),
    Physiological Responses to Environmental Stress, Ecological Forecasting,
    Ocean Climate Change Policy
Office: 53/E2xx
Email:clogan@csumb.edu
Home page: http://sep.csumb.edu/staff/cheryl/
Phone: (831) 582-
4698

Marc Los Huertos, Ph.D.
Faculty
CWSP Graduate Program Coordinator
Interests: Agricultural water quality
Home Page: https://sites.google.com/a/csumb.edu/marc-los-huertos/
Email:
mloshuertos@csumb.edu
Phone:
(831) 582-3209

Julie Martin, Ph.D.
Instructor: Phys 121 Integrated Physical Science
Interests: Oceanography/Volcanology
Email: jumartin@csumb.edu

Don Mautner, M.S.
Instructor
Interests:
Meteorology~Oceanography
Email: dmautner@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-4660

 

Christina McKnew
Watershed Institute Native Plant Greenhouse / Nursery Coordinator
Email: cmcknew@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-3326

 

Photo N/A Mallory Mclaren
Email: mmclaren@csumb.edu
Forrest Melton
Adjunct Faculty
Senior Scientist, NASA Cooperative Agreement
Interests:
remote sensing, agricultural water management, climate change impact assessment
Home Page:
Email:
Forrest.S.Melton@nasa.gov
Phone:
Tim Miles, PhD
Assistant Professor, starting Jan 2015
Hailee Miller
SEP Office Student Assistant
Email:
SEP_Office@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-4120
Cecile Mioni

Cecile Mioni
Instructor: ENVS 282, BIO 395, and usually BIO 344L
Interests: Microbiology and Microbial ecology
Office: Chapman Science Academic Center (53) - Room E215

Phone: 541 515 0425
Email: cmioni@csumb.edu

Steven Moore, Ph.D.
Interests: Marine Biology, Biomechanics, Robotics, Nature Photography
Courses: BIO 345, MSCI 437, PHYS 330/530
Research Page - EEL Lab: http://eel.csumb.edu/
Home Page: http://sep.csumb.edu/staff/steve/
Email: stmoore@csumb.edu

Flower Moye
Instructor: ENVS303L
Research Diving Coordinator
Office: S122
Phone: (831) 582-4595
CSUMB Research Diving Website: http://sep.csumb.edu/scidive/
Email: jmoye@csumb.edu

Make Navarro, PhD
NSF Ocean Sciences Division Post-Doctoral Scholar
Interests:
Biological and Fisheries Oceanography, Benthic Ecology
Email
: miken.711@gmail.com
Nikki Nedeff, M.A.
Instructor
Interests: Biogeography, Landscape Ecology, Fire
Class: BIO 342, California Plant Communities (and introductory Plant Taxonomy)
Phone: 831.320.9463
Email: nnedeff@csumb.edu, nikki@ventanaview.net
Katherine Nelson, PhD
Lecturer

Courses: CHEM 109 & 110L
Interests: Chemistry, Chemical education
Email: katnelson@csumb.edu

Wendi Newman
Science Lab Support Technician - Organismal Biology
Office:
E211
Email:
wnewman@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-4431

Lab support web site: http://sep.csumb.edu/tech

 

 

Joy Nguyen
Lab Technician - Chemistry/Physics
Office: E315
Email: jnguyen@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-4127

Lab support web site: http://sep.csumb.edu/tech
Kerry Nickols, PhD
Assistant Professor, starting Jan 2015

Louie Okamoto
RISE Program Coordinator
rise.csumb.edu
Email: lokamoto@csumb.edu
Phone: 831-582-4556

Photo N/A Hester Parker
Instructor
ENVS 212
Office:
Phone:
 
Lars Pierce, Ph.D.
Adjunct Faculty, Watershed Institute Co-Director
Interests:
fire ecology - agricultural irrigation efficiency - modeling - remote sensing
Home Page: https://sites.google.com/a/csumb.edu/lars/
Email:
lpierce@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 331-3889
Bobby Quinonez
UROC Administrative Support Coordinator
Email: rquinonez@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-4241
Photo N/A Mitchell Reid
SMART Academic Environmental Health and Safety Specialist
Room: Rm 53/S314
Email: mireid@csumb.edu
 
Charmaine Robinson, PhD
Instructor: BIO 241, BIO 241L, BIO 242, BIO 242L, BIO 311
Office: 53/E310
Phone: (831) 582 - 5145
Interests: Conservation biology, wildlife disease genetics, and science education
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/robinsoncytogenetics/
Email: charobinson@csumb.edu
 
Jaclyn Schmidt
Instructor: CHEM 110 labs
Email: jaschmitt@csumb.edu

Daniel Shapiro, Ph.D.
Faculty
Interests:
Environmental ethics ~ environmental justice ~ environmental policy
                   service learning ~ senior capstone coordination ~ writing
Course Pages:
ENVS 212 - Environmental Ethics, Science, and Policy
ENVS 384SL - Environmental Justice and Environmental Policy Service Learning
ENVS 400/402/403 - Senior Capstone Seminars
Email: dshapiro@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-3090

John Silveus
Instructor: BIO 230, ENVS 201, FYS 124
Office: Building 53, Room E115
Phone: (831) 582-4758
Email: jsilveus@csumb.edu

Photo of Michal Sipal

Michal Sipal
ENVS 300L Instructor
Phone: (831) 582 4079
Building 84E Room 101

Email: MSipal@csumb.edu


John Skardon, PhD
Adjunct Faculty. Instructor
Interests:  Renewable energy, energy economics, innovation, entrepreneurship, bioreactors
Courses:  ENVS101, ENVS 300, ENVS 500,  ENVS 580
Email: jskardon@csumb.edu

Douglas Smith, Ph.D.
Chair, Division of Science and Environmental Policy
Interests: Geomorphology~hydrology~geology~river restoration
Courses:
GEOL 260/260L
- Geology and Hydrology: Earth Systems Applications
GEOL 360/360L Geomorphic Systems
GEOL 460/460L River Hydrology, Assessment, and Monitoring
ENVS 560/560L - Watershed Systems
ENVS 660/660L - Advanced Watershed Science and Policy
Research:http://hydro.csumb.edu/html/doug.htm
Email: dosmith@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-4696

Rachel Spellenberg
SEP Office Student Assistant
Email: sep_office@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-4120

Aparna Sreenivasan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Interests:
microbiology, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, bioethics, and science education
Courses:

BIO 361L: Eukaryotic Molecular Biology Lab
BIO 300: Issues and Ethics in Biology
BIO 311: Genetics
BIO 392: Biology seminar
BIO 414: Advanced Cell Biology
BIO 490: Biology Capstone

Home page: http://sep.csumb.edu/staff/aparna/
Email: asreenivasan@csumb.edu
Phone:
(831)582-3210

Erin Stanfield Erin Stanfield, M.S.
Instructor: BIO240 and BIO240L
Email: estanfield@csumb.edu
Jessica Taatjes, BS
COAST VISTA

Interests: Oceanography
Email: jtaatjes@csumb.edu
Photo N/A Lilia Svietlana Torres
Student Science Instructional Lab Assistant
Photo N/A Tim Thomas
Instructor: BIO 345 Marine BIology
Email: tithomas@csumb.edu
Photo N/A

Leslie Turrini-Smith
Instructor
Courses
: GEOL 260
Email: lturrini-smith@csumb.edu
Office: 53/E136
Phone: 582-4155

Christina Villalobos
SEP Office Student Assistant
Email:
SEP_Office@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-4120
Ximena Waissbluth, MA
Lecturer
Courses: MSCI 359S
Email: xwaissbluth@csumb.edu
Karen Wallace
Science Advisor
Email:
kwallace@csumb.edu
Phone:
(831) 582-4739
Heather Ward

Heather Ward, Ph.D.
Instructor
ENVS 211 - Intro. to Science and Env. Policy
MSCI 300 Marine Science, Communication, and Policy
Web: hjwardphd.wordpress.com
Email: hward@csumb.edu
 

Fred Watson, Ph.D.
Faculty
Interests:
Hydrology ~ wildlife ~ ecology ~ modeling ~ monitoring ~ software development
Home Page: http://science.csumb.edu/~fwatson/
Classes:
ENVS 303/L California Transect
ENVS 436/L 536/L Remote Sensing and Image Processing

ENVS 440 / 540 Environmental Modeling
ENVS 550/L Research Methods
ENVS 560/L Watershed Systems
ENVS 660/660L - Advanced Watershed Science and Policy
Email:
fwatson@csumb.edu
Phone: +1 831 582 4452.Fax: +1 831 582 3691. Office: 53-E112

Swarup Wood, Ph.D.
Faculty
Interests:
science of learning ~ recycling ~sustainability
Courses:
CHEM 110 - Chemistry 1
CHEM 109 - Chemistry and the Environment
Building 53/E207
Email: swood@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-3926

Suzanne Worcester, Ph.D, CIT
Faculty
Interests:
Conservation biology ~ field ecology ~ restoration
Classes:
BIO 211/L - Ecology, Evolution, Biodiversity and Plants
ENVS 349S - Environmental Interpretation
ENVS 350 Quantitative Field Methods
ENVS 442/542 Vernal Pools of Fort Ord
Email: sworcester@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-3840
.

Natalie Zayas, PhD
Instructor
Interests:
Online Education~Water Quality~Science Education
Email: nzayas@csumb.edu
Phone: (831) 582-5008 Fax (831) 582-4673
Louis Zeidberg, PhD
Instructor BIO 240L
Interests: Marine Ecology, Fisheries Policy, Biological Oceanography
Email: lzeidberg@csumb.edu
6 Sepr 2014 Webmaster